Pye Centre Advisory Committee

Members of the Pye Centre Advisory Committee (PCAC) hold diverse and distinct types of expertise in food production, food security, and food systems, and guide all activities that happen at and with the Pye Centre.

The Pye Centre Advisory Committee (PCAC) is a committee comprised of local farmers, Indigenous government representatives, provincial and federal agriculture representatives, local food organizations, and academic researchers.

Working together with the Pye Centre and other key partners, the PCAC ensures that all Pye Centre programs and activities are aligned with our values, continue to serve our shared goals for strengthening and enhancing food innovation, food production, and community connections in Labrador. The PCAC is also the central review body for all research connected to the Pye Centre, ensuring that all research activities adhere to our principles and practices of community farm-based research.

We recognize the importance of the relationships among PCAC members and the Pye Centre, as well as the respective webs of relationships we all hold within our respective communities. It is these relationships that will enable the Pye Centre to grow from a place of strength to co-create knowledge and evidence-based resources that contribute to strengthening and enhancing Northern boreal food systems in Labrador.

Current Members

Updated January 2022

Desmond Sellars, Owner & Operator, Nature’s Best Farm

Darren Dinsmore, Owner & Operator, Aldercroft Farm

Leanne Wilson, Associate Director – Research, Development, and Technology Transfer (St. John’s), Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Shelley Cleary, Agriculture Development Officer, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador (Happy Valley-Goose Bay)

Erica Oberndorfer, PhD, Ethnobotanist, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Adrian Unc, PhD, Professor, Boreal Ecosystems and Agricultural Sciences, Grenfell Campus, Memorial University

Michelle Kinney, Deputy Minister of Health and Social Development, Nunatsiavut Government Department of Health and Social Development

Bryn Wood, Acting Director, Research, Education, and Culture Department, NunatuKavut Community Council

Jennifer Elson, Executive Director, Labrador Friendship Centre / Community Food Bank

%d bloggers like this: